Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) is a standardized test to measure the ability of use and understand English of non-native speakers wishing to enroll in English-speaking universities. It evaluates how well you combine your reading, listening, speaking, and writing skills to perform academic tasks. TOEFL is one of the two major English-language tests in the world, the other being the IELTS. The test is accepted by many English-speaking academic and professional institutions.


There are 2 types of TOEFL; Internet-based Test (iBT) and Paper-delivered Test (PDT)


Internet-based Test

It is a four-hour test that consists of four sections, each measuring one of the basic language skills (while some tasks require integrating multiple skills), and all tasks focus on language used in an academic, higher-education environment. Note-taking is allowed during the TOEFL iBT test. The TOEFL iBT test is scored on a scale of 0 to 120 points.




Approximate time


3-4 passages, each containing 10 questions

54-72 minutes


5-7 passages, each containing 5–6 questions

41-59 minutes


Mandatory break

10 minutes


4 tasks

17 minutes


2 tasks

55 minutes


Paper-delivered Test

The TOEFL PDT is an official test for use where the internet test is unavailable, usually due to internet & computer issues.

It consists of the Listening, Reading, and Writing sections, with scores that are the same scale as the Internet Based Test. There is no total score.